New Building Natural History Museum Basel and State Archive Basel-Stadt

The Natural History Museum Basel and the State Archive Basel-Stadt are housed in old town properties in need of renovation and manage several provisional, external depots. This is where the collections and archives are stored. Both institutions suffer from inadequate conditions in their magazines and warehouses, which poses a significant threat to the valuable archives and collections. They urgently need new premises to protect the valuable cultural assets with their unique holdings in the long term.

Natural History Museum Basel

The exploration, education and mediation of the local and global diversity of nature is becoming increasingly important. That is why the museum defines its mission to empower the people to deal responsibly with planet Earth and its resources.

The Natural History Museum Basel is responsible for and supervises regional and international important scientific collections. These witnesses of our nature store information about elementary parts of our planet. The 11.8 million objects (including minerals, fossils, insects, skeletons) are irreplaceable for researchers from all over the world for their scientific work.

State Archive Basel-Stadt

The State Archive Basel-Stadt is the historical memory and the central knowledge store of the canton of Basel-Stadt. It is one of the most frequented and popular archives with a wide range of user groups.

As an interface between past, present and future, the archive secures irreplaceable Basel cultural heritage from around a thousand years of history and makes it available to the public: written and audiovisual original sources as well as digital documents that reflect the activities of the authorities and the life of the population in Basel.

Location

Where is the new building to be built?
The construction site for the planned building is located on a former railway area on Entenweidstrasse in Basel’s St. Johann district. The development of this part of Basel from a former industrial and workers' neighborhood into a popular, urban residential and cultural district continues unabated.
The perimeter covers 5,345 m2 of building space. In the south and west it borders on the track area of the railway. In the north it also includes the area below the Luzernerring bridge.
The attractiveness of the entire district around Voltastrasse and Vogesenplatz has grown steadily as part of the urban development process 'ProVolta'. The transformation of the area 'VoltaNord' (Lysbüchel area) north of the railway station St. Johann will also promote this development.

Added value
The new location is much better accessible by public transport than the museum at its present location on the Münsterhuegel. The tram stop 'Bahnhof St. Johann' is only a few steps away in front of the planned building. The city center and the SBB railway station can be reached in 10 minutes. In addition, the Voltaplatz and the Kannenfeldplatz are within walking distance and connect the new building to additional tram and bus lines.

The public use of the Natural History Museum and the State Archive will support the transformation of the district and increase the quality of life through the new center Vogesenplatz. It will also form a hinge between the neighboring quarters with their diverse range of population groups.

The building project

In June 2013, the parliament of the canton of Basel-Stadt confirmed the decision of the government to select an area in the north-west of Basel's city center for the joint construction of the Natural History Museum and the State Archive. The location is in the immediate vicinity of Vogesenplatz and St. Johann's railway station This decision was accompanied by the approval of the parliament, to spend a total of 11 million Swiss Francs for the project development on a new building for the two institutions under one roof.

For both institutions, this decision was preceded by potential studies for scenarios in the previous properties and extensive investigations on13 alternative locations throughout the city.

Anonymous project competition
In order to receive a high-quality project proposal, an anonymous project competition was held in 2014/15. 125 teams from all over the world applied to participate. In a prequalification, 22 teams were selected and invited to prepare a detailed project proposal.
Finally, the project ZASAMAME of the team EM2N architects from Zurich emerged victorious.

Details and plans of the building project
EM2N | Mathias Müller | Daniel Niggli Architekten AG

Schedule

The building plan is for completion between 2020 and 2023. The moving in and setting-up phase will take one year in the case of the State Archive Basel-Stadt and two for the Natural History Museum Basel. After that, from 2024/5, a new public building devoted to culture will be an exciting guidepost for the aspirational district of St Johann.

Figures

Figures Natural History Museum Basel 2018

11.8 Mio Objects in the collections
127'931   Visitors
1'587 School groups (2/3 from Basel-Stadt)
19'750 Lending of collection objects to other museums or scientists
435   

Scientific visitor days of a total of 175 scientists from 20 different countries of the world

 
Costs joint new building Natural History Museum and States Archive

143 Mio Part of Natural History Museum Basel
71 Mio Part of States Archive Basel-Stadt
214 Mio
total cost
one-time building expenses incl. relocation and installation costs and reserve

East elevation

New Building Natural History Museum Basel and State Archive Basel-Stadt, East © EM2N, Visualisation: Filippo Bolognese

Neubau Naturhistorisches Museum Basel und Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt

Das Naturhistorische Museum und das Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt sind in stark sanierungsbedürftigen Altstadtliegenschaften untergebracht und bewirtschaften mehrere provisorische, externe Depots. Hier lagern die Sammlungen und das Archivgut. Beide Institutionen leiden unter mangelhaften Bedingungen in ihren Magazinen und Lagern, was eine erhebliche Gefahr für das wertvolle Archivgut und die Sammlungen mit sich bringt. Sie benötigen dringend neue Räumlichkeiten, um das wertvolle Kulturgut mit den einzigartigen Beständen langfristig zu schützen.

Naturhistorisches Museum Basel

Die Erforschung, Bildung und Vermittlung der lokalen und globalen Vielfalt der Natur gewinnt zusehends an Bedeutung. Deshalb definiert das Museum seinen Auftrag dahingehend, der Bevölkerung einen verantwortungvollen Umgang mit dem Planeten Erde und seinen Ressourcen zu vermitteln.

Das Naturhistorische Museum Basel verantwortet und betreut regional und international bedeutende naturwissenschaftliche Sammlungen. Diese Zeugen der Natur speichern Informationen über elementare Teile unseres Planeten. Die 11,8 Millionen Objekte (u.a. Mineralien, Fossilien, Insekten, Skelette) sind für Forschende aus der ganzen Welt unersetzbare Grundlagen für ihre wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit.

Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt

Das Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt ist das historische Gedächtnis und der zentrale Wissensspeicher des Kantons Basel-Stadt. Es ist eines der meist genutzten Archive mit einem breiten Spektrum an Benutzergruppen. Als Schnittstelle zwischen Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft sichert es unersetzliches Basler Kulturgut aus rund tausend Jahren Geschichte und stellt dieses der Öffentlichkeit zur Verfügung: schriftliche und audiovisuelle Originalquellen sowie digitale Unterlagen, welche die Tätigkeiten der Behörden und das Leben der Bevölkerung auf Basler Boden widerspiegeln.

STANDORT

Wo soll der Neubau entstehen?
Der Projektperimeter liegt auf ehemaligem SBB-Areal an der Entenweidstrasse im Basler St. Johannsquartier, dessen Entwicklung vom einstigen Industrie- und Arbeiterquartier zu einem beliebten, urbanen Wohn-, Forschungs- und Kulturquartier ungebrochen voranschreitet.
Der Perimeter umfasst 5'345 m2 Grundfläche. Im Süden und Westen grenzt er an das Gleisareal der SBB. Im Norden beinhaltet er die Fläche unterhalb der Luzernerring-Brücke.
Die Attraktivität des gesamten Quartiers rund um Voltastrasse und Vogesenplatz ist im Rahmen des Stadtentwicklungsprozesses ProVolta beständig gewachsen. Auch die Umgestaltung des Areals VoltaNord (Lysbüchel-Areal) nördlich des Bahnhof St. Johann wird diese Entwicklung zusätzlich begünstigen.

Mehrwert Standort
Der neue Standort ist durch den öffentlichen Verkehr wesentlich besser erschlossen als das Museum an der heutigen Lage auf dem Münsterhügel. Die Tramhaltestelle 'Bahnhof St. Johann' liegt wenige Schritte entfernt vor dem geplanten Gebäude. Stadtmitte und Bahnhof SBB sind in jeweils 10 Minuten mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln erreichbar. Zudem liegen auch der Voltaplatz und der Kannenfeldplatz in Gehdistanz und binden den Neubau an weitere Tram- und Buslinien des öffentlichen Verkehrs an.

Durch die öffentliche Nutzung von Naturhistorischem Museum und Staatsarchiv wird der Wandel des Quartiers unterstützt und die Lebensqualität durch das neue Zentrum Vogesenplatz gesteigert und ein Scharnier zwischen den angrenzenden Quartieren mit deren unterschiedlichen Bevölkerungsgruppen gebildet.

Bauprojekt

Im Juni 2013 bestätigte der Grosse Rat des Kantons Basel-Stadt den Beschluss des Regierungsrates, für den gemeinsamen Neubau des Naturhistorischen Museums und des Staatsarchivs ein Areal im Nordwesten der Basler Kernstadt in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Vogesenplatz und zum Bahnhof St. Johann zu wählen. Damit einher ging die Bewilligung des Grossen Rates, einmalige Ausgaben für die Projektausarbeitung eines Neubaus für die beiden Institutionen unter einem Dach in der Höhe von insgesamt 11 Mio. Schweizer Franken.

Diesem Entscheid waren für beide Institutionen Potenzialstudien für Szenarien in den bisherigen Liegenschaften und umfangreichen Untersuchungen von je 13 möglichen Standorten im gesamten Stadtgebiet vorausgegangen.

Anonymer Projektwettbewerb
Um einen qualitativ hochstehenden Projektvorschlag zu erhalten, wurde 2014/15 ein anonymer Projektwettbewerb durchgeführt. 125 Teams aus aller Welt bewarben sich im Rahmen einer Präqualifikation um eine Teilnahme, 22 Team wurden ausgewählt und zur Ausarbeitung eines Projektvorschlags eingeladen.
Das Projekt ZASAMAME des Teams EM2N Architekten aus Zürich ging als Sieger hervor.

Details und Pläne zum Bauprojekt
EM2N | Mathias Müller | Daniel Niggli Architekten AG

Zahlen

Kennzahlen Naturhistorisches Museum Basel 2018

11.8 Mio Sammlungsobjekte
127'931   Besuchende
1'587 Schulklassen (2/3 aus Basel-Stadt)
19'750 Objektausleihen an andere Museen oder Forschende
435    Wissenschaftliche Besuchertage von insgesamt 175 Forschenden aus 20 verschiedenen Ländern der Welt

 
Kosten gemeinsamer Neubau Museum und Staatsarchiv

143 Mio Anteil Naturhistorisches Museum Basel
71 Mio Anteil Staatsarchiv
214 Mio Gesamtkosten Einmalige Baukosten inkl. Umzugs- und Einrichtungskosten sowie Reserve

Zeitplan

Die Realisierung ist für 2020 – 2023 geplant. Nach einer einjährigen Umzugs- und Einrichtungsphase für das Staatsarchiv bzw. einer zweijährigen für das Naturhistorische Museum Basel wird das neue öffentliche Kulturgebäude ab 2024/25 neue Impulse im aufstrebenden Stadtquartier St. Johann setzen.

Termin Beschrieb
ab 2016 Projektierung
ab 2020 Realisierung
ab 2023 Bezug
2024/2025 Eröffnung

Visualisierung Ostansicht

Neubau Naturhistorisches Museum Basel und Staatsarchiv Basel-Stadt, Ostansicht © EM2N, Visualisierung: Filippo Bolognese