Apterygota Apterygota

Apterygota are an artificial group of the four primitively flightless heaxpod orders springtails (Collembola), Protura, Diplura and Thysanura. These are mostly small, ground-dwelling species.

The collections of apterygotes by Peter Wygodzinski and Eduard Handschin mainly include species from Central Europe and South East Asia from the first half of the 20th century.

Out of a total of 500 species, around 5,000 animals have been preserved in ethanol. 1,600 of them are microscopic preparations. Of these, around 100 taxa are represented by primary types.